RSS

Rescuing the Princess…Again…

26 Jun

zelda
At this moment, my 31 year old self is getting ready to sit down to a riveting game of Legend of Zelda. The original 1986 version that I first played at the age of 6. In risk of sounding “hipsterish” I must confess that I am looking more forward towards this gaming experience than any I have had in a half dozen years. This will be the first time in 15 years that I have touched this very game.

Of course the graphics of an 8 bit system are a bit dated and there is no surround sound option for the midi file that repeats every 27 or so seconds, but those things don’t matter to my brain. All the meat in my head is simply salivating at the idea of re-connecting with an innocent spark of the past.

And then the music starts and the adventure begins again for me. Suddenly I am warped back to my childhood and the memory of every hidden item comes swooping back in as if I had just played the day before. An hour or two pass before I am forced to return to the now, to realize time has crept up and made these moments fleeting at best.

I turn off the power and leave with a little smile on my face. The quest will still be there for me whenever I need it to be. The hard part is reminding your adult brain that it’s ok to sit down with the child you used to be every once in a while. Now that I think about it, it isn’t just important; it’s vital.

The rest of the day I am left with a reminder of what it was like to be a child again, and for just a little while, that is enough.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2013 in Blog

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Rescuing the Princess…Again…

  1. dganster42

    July 7, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    I havent played the game in like 10 years myself. I am looking forward to my next replay for my blog. I will play The Legend of Zelda games until the die I die and they will always make me smile in a way that nothing else can.

    -http://alinktothepastgaming.wordpress.com/

     
    • jlmartindesigns

      July 7, 2013 at 8:06 pm

      I hear you, I get to play it in hour long bursts and after about a week I am finally ready to go back to spectacle rock and face down Ganon once again!

       

Leave a Reply

 
