RSS

New Book Cover Art & New Short Story!

13 Jul

Hello avid readers. I am always trying to build on this site and to make it as visually pleasing as it is filled with content to enjoy.

I have started a project to include book cover designs for all of my major works (Short story collections & Novel parts).

I would like to eventually include cover art for all my pieces of fiction I post here, but I will start simple and work my way up!

Here is the new cover design I worked on for my growing collection of short stories I based around an end of the world scenario:

I give you, End Times!

End Times: A collection of short stories about the end of the world

This is my first attempt at book cover art, so please, be as brutal as you can and let me know what you think!


Also, I have posted my second short story in the End Times series:

As The Sky Sang

“The sky sang. The music was beautiful. The orchestra reached its crescendo. That was when the screaming began. The bombs fell rapidly now as the survivors attack was stepped up to phase two. Shrapnel and liquid fire rained down from the sky as soldiers dove for cover. Across the ridge, bodies began to twist and melt as the heat of the explosions tore through the lines of the advancing forces. The wails from the poor souls resonated through the heart of Sgt. Major Jonas Henson as he lobbed another widow shock hand explosive from the trench.”Click HERE to read more!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2013 in Art, Blog, Short Story

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “New Book Cover Art & New Short Story!

  1. manangbok

    July 13, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    “I would like to eventually include cover art for all my pieces of fiction I post here, but I will start simple and work my way up!”

    Hi J.L. I’m curious, what program did you use in making the cover design for End Times? It’s quite riveting πŸ™‚

     
    • jlmartindesigns

      July 13, 2013 at 5:53 pm

      Thank you very much for the kind words! I used Photoshop on this one. I used a couple of photos that I had and applied some filters to them and then added the text on after with a few graphic adjustments. Overall I like the look. I am really looking forward to doing some more.

       
  2. belsbror

    July 13, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    Great artwork! Amazing shot. πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
