RSS

New Poetry: Hindsight

16 Jul

Hindsightblue_eyes
I stand before you now.
A whole, a part, apart
from those I hold onto,
Separated from dreams,
And from Reality
I Stand alone gripping
My worst fears. An expansion
Before me, and expanse behind.
If only I could have
Vision twenty-twenty
Hind-sight. The blurred image
Of the past reminds me
What I left behind, the
Life mediocrity,
My fear to explore this
Unknown. What if there is
No-one on the other
Side of this endeavor?
What if all I left behind
Is gone for good? Tell me,
Will this forever caste me
As a new being, to
Never be recognized
By ones I used to love.
That they might see my
Success as betrayal.
I feel cold blue eyes,
Color of winter ice
Bore into my vision.
My current footing, held
Fast in what I regret.
What is truth, what is lie?
The fear of truth upon
Falsity is far too
Strong for me to bear on
This journey that I heed.
Darkness ahead makes me
Delay, makes me doubtful
I can actually take that
First step. The icy eyes
They stare at me like stars
Long dead, yet still shining
Their prophetic warnings.
I warn you now, dear friends
Do not stare into them
For too long, you may find
Your path clouded as well.
Thus is my journey not yet
Begun, for fear of what
Lies beyond, what lies ahead.
I have been the first to
Venture farther from the
Safety of the nest I
Call home, yet there is
More for me to explore.
I must steer away from
Those eyes of regret
Those eyes of hindsight and
The veil that they cast
Of wrong turns and choices
Ill made. I take that step.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2013 in Art, Blog, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “New Poetry: Hindsight

  1. Happylifeaholic

    July 16, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    This is really good. 🙂 And the picture you chose corresponds really well with the imagery in the poem too. Bravo!

     
    • jlmartindesigns

      July 16, 2013 at 10:29 pm

      Thank you very much. This was a poem I wrote about 5 years ago. Been sitting on a bunch of my old poetry…thanks to positive comments like this, I am looking forward to breaking more of it out!

       

Leave a Reply

 
