RSS

New Poetry: Zirconium Tears

23 Jul

Zirconium Tears

tear_drop
The rain clouds the tears
As the test begins anew.
Sincerity crosses over eyes,
But crossed eyed views
Hold longer still.

Void in the heart
As the pain breaks like
Waves cresting in the night
Ocean. And all I can do
Is watch.

Once again, strength was
Tossed onto another’s shoulder
Only to be bucked off
Leaving you alone
And afraid.

Broken promises kept
Me coming back to this moment
As I watch those crystals form
Under your eyes.
The dark lies.

The numbness that spreads
Has tried to creep into
My own heart, and it nearly
Took root. But I chose to
Hold it back.

I will not be numb
Like you. I will not
Let Zirconium tears fall
From my eyes and run down
My face.

I Trusted You
Echoed through my ears
As you walked away.
Only then did I realize
You never did.

– J.L. Martin –

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2013 in Art, Blog, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “New Poetry: Zirconium Tears

  1. bloodyrenn

    July 23, 2013 at 10:07 pm

    Exceptional! This is a fantastic piece, thank you for sharing, and is actually reminiscent of some things I am going through at the moment. Ironically enough I actually write a fair amount of poetry myself although I obviously don’t share it on my horror blog, haha.

     
    • jlmartindesigns

      July 23, 2013 at 10:48 pm

      Thank you very much for the kind words. This poem goes back a few years and actually comes out of a 3 page rant that I wrote in a more “emo” phase of my life that I cringe looking back at.

      I originally was not going to have poetry be a main part of this blog. It kinda slowly merged in with the other random bits that became my normal ramblings.

      I am really enjoying your movie reviews and look forward to reading more. Maybe you should have a section for some of your artistic ramblings! I would be interested in seeing that as well!

       
      • bloodyrenn

        July 24, 2013 at 7:51 am

        I have been thinking about opening up a sister blog that details my poetry but for some reason it takes me a bit of time to ease into the idea, heh. Phases aside, poetry is generally the most effective when driven by emotion and, at least for me, I can seem to only summon the inspiration when things are going sour in my life so I’ve got a whole well-spring of dark and metaphorical poetry.

         

Leave a Reply

 
